Strawberry Nectarine Whole Wheat Pancakes

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day.  I love mornings, I love morning food, I love coffee, and I love it even more when I can have my cup of joe and breakfast of choice with my favorite people.

This summer in Chicago, I am trying to see my sister at least once a week since we are in the same city and she is leaving for Thailand for two whole years.  Although Chicago is full of phenomenal brunch locations, we are both not exactly rolling in the big bucks plus we really like to cook together so we often chose to make something at home.  As both of us have gained experience in the kitchen, we tend to see recipes, explore the flavors used, and then tweak and change various things that we like or don’t like on the recipe or what ingredients we have on hand.

IMG_0525 IMG_0528

This lovely pancake is the perfect example.  I had gotten some delicious nectarines at the store and was originally planning on using them on Smitten Kitchen’s amazing peach pancake recipe – which I think is the best pancake I have ever eaten.  But, we didn’t have all the ingredients.  So I decided to go with the flow and mash up a few favorite pancake recipes with my own flair.

The result- a pancake that is

fluffy
filling
whole wheat
refined sugar free
delicious
summery

AKA everything I was looking for.


INGREDIENTS

1 cup of milk

2 tablespoons of coconut oil, melted

1 tablespoon honey

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 eggs

1/2 cup oats

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon ginger

1 nectarine, sliced

1/2 cup sliced strawberries


INSTRUCTIONS

Stir together the milk, coconut oil, honey, and vanilla extract.  Then beat in the eggs.

Add the oats to the wet mixture and let sit for five minutes.

Add the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger to the wet mixture.  Moment of honesty- I never sift together the dry ingredients first.  If you like it better that way go ahead!  But I wanted to record this the way I did it.  Mix just until combined.  The batter should be pretty thick.

Add in the fruit and mix five more time.

The key to fluffy pancakes is to not over mix, I had wonderful, fluffy pancakes by mixing in the fruit at the end; however, you could definitely mix the fruit in with the dry ingredients too without compromising the pancakes.

Scoop around 1/4 cup of batter onto a heated pan or skillet.  Cook the cakes until the edges begin to get a few bubbles, 3-4 minutes.  Flip and then cook for 3-4 more minutes.  You may need to adjust your heat after the pan has been heated.


notes:

– You could slice the nectarines in rounds and put them on the batter after you have scooped it onto the griddle if you would like some beautifully caramelized nectarines.  I wanted to add strawberries which is why I opted to not do this this time.

– You could substitute the whole wheat flour for oat flour (put some old fashioned oats in a food processor until finely ground) if gluten free.

– Almond milk would work if you are dairy free

Leave a Reply

