Yogurt Parfait

If I had my ideal world, I would wake up at 8:00, have a leisurely cup of coffee while making breakfast and savor the morning.  And then I would eat said breakfast on my back deck while reading the news or having Bible study.

Unfortunately, this lovely scene is not happening this summer.  Like not at all.  When I work at my internship, I usually leave by 7:45 or 8.  And I bought some mildly terrible coffee grounds on accident so I like to find other ways to fill my caffeine needs, even if that means the K-cups at work that I normally don’t really like.  And I don’t even eat breakfast at home.

At first, this was difficult.  Last school year I got so used to the scrambled eggs with tomatoes, onions, and spinach, or homemade apple pancakes with Greek yogurt, or baked oatmeal among other breakfast faves.  But, I have moved on.  This summer my breakfasts have comfortable theme, a rhythm that binds them together.  The night before I take a scoop of Greek yogurt, a splash of almond milk, a generous spoonful of flax seeds, and whatever fruit I currently have and pack it in my tupperware for the morning.  Some days I toss some oats in, others I bring a sprinkle of almonds to top it off with.

Although not my ideal morning fare, the calcium, protein, fiber, healthy fats, and fruit are great fuel for my day.  The yogurt parfait keeps me full until lunch, has no added sugar, and is pretty inexpensive for such a nutrient dense meal.

Here are some of my favorite combinations:

– Blueberry Appricot

IMG_5747

– Banana walnut

– Strawberry with flax

IMG_0570

– Mango

And the possibilities are endless!

Leave a Reply

