Elise Eats With Friends: 4

I think it has been pretty clear now that I love eating food with people.  I would go as far as to say it is my love language if that is even a thing.  Obviously it’s easiest and most natural for me to reach out to my favorite people because I love spending time with them, but having friends I don’t hang out with as much is sometimes even more fun.  I loved having some girlfriends over that I don’t get to see as often.  The extra bonus of this dinner was that my friends made the food with me.  It was so fun to chop and dice and saute and dance together and to all contribute to a delicious meal.  

Something that always makes me laugh is when friends ask me cooking advice.  I love that I get to share this part of me, but I often don’t feel like I actually have much knowledge.  But I have to remember how thankful I am for friends with hobbies like makeup because I am terribly clueless on how to do more than put on mascara and eyeliner, or how much I value the opinion of my fashion-forward friends,  and all the questions I’ve asked my pro-knitting friend when I made my first (pretty bad) scarf.  And I remember how I love to cook, how I love the sound when garlic and onion hits hot oil, how investigating flavors and figuring out if it needs a hefty pinch of chili powder, a smidge more pepper, or a sprinkle of salt.  I love food and I love that my friends know that about me and I can share my passion with them.

IMG_1432.JPG

This dinner looks humble but is winter and comfort and homey.  I have started making pastry dough in my food processor and am blown away with how easy it is to make fluffy, buttery dough.  So I definitely recommend that method over using a fork if you can help it.  While I am including the original measurements below, we didn’t measure the vegetables and went off of what looked good.

Classic Chicken Pie

from a Better Happier St. Sebastian

Ingredients:

2, 6 oz boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1” chunks

2 Tbsp minced garlic

Salt and pepper

3 Tbsp olive oil

4-5 carrots, slice

4-5 parsnips, sliced

4 celery stalks, sliced

1 medium onion, finely chopped

1 Tbsp dried oregano

1 Tbsp dried rosemary

¼ cup whole wheat flour

2 ½ cups low-fat milk

1 cup peas

Directions

Heat 1 Tbsp of olive oil in a large dutch oven or heavy bottom pan then add 1 Tbsp of minced garlic and saute under golden.  Brown the cut chicken in the olive oil, about 3 minutes.  Remove the chicken and add remaining 2 Tbsp of olive oil to the pan.  Add the onion and remaining 1 Tbsp of garlic and cook until translucent.  Then add the carrots, parsnips and celery.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Continue to cook until the root vegetables are almost tender, about 8 minutes then add the oregano and rosemary and cook about 2 minutes longer.  

Next, add the flour and coat vegetables.  Slowly add the milk and stir until it is smooth.  Bring the mixture to a simmer and allow it to thicken.  Finally, add the peas.  

Pour into a 9×13 pan and drop biscuits on top.  Bade at 375 for 20-25 minutes when the chicken pie is bubbling and the biscuits are a beautiful brown.

Drop biscuit topping

3 cups whole-wheat flour

3 teaspoons baking powder

1 tsp salt

10 Tbsp cold, unsalted butter cut into small pieces

1 ¼ cup milk

Use a food processor and pulse together the dry ingredients.  Add the cold butter and pulse until ingredients are well combined.  Pour in milk and pulse until just combined.  Because we used whole wheat flour, allow the dough to sit for a few minutes to become more tender.  Roll dough out on a lightly floured surface and drop big spoonfuls on the chicken pie.

 

Leave a Reply

