Christmas break reads

Break was good.  So very good. In fact, I think it was my most relaxed but not bored break, and I am so rested and refreshed.  I was intentional to read (a lot) over break because my list is growing so much faster than I am reading.  Here are my takes on a few….

  1. Modern Lovers: I started off break with this light read and loved it.  This is a perfect example of my favorite type of fiction.  You get to know the characters well, the story-line is interesting and not far-fetched, you get to dive into the complexity of being a human being.  I highly recommend it.   I read it fast and I bet you will too.
  2. Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance: this book stretched almost all of break because you only want to read so much at a time to let it soak in.  In eighth grade a did an informative speech on Charles Duhigg’s book The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business and this reminded me of that style.  It is a book rich in research but presented in an easy to digest manor.  Personally, this is the best kind of ‘self-help’ book (even though it is a stretch to call it that) because the proof in the  numbers motivate me to be a gritty person who cultivates interests, practices, finds deep purpose in what I do, and is hopeful when my plans come crashing down.
  3. The Couple Next Door: My other favorite book genre – suspense and almost thriller.  This one is much less than Gone Girl or The Girl on the Train, but still provided a solid story line, twists throughout, and the perfect read over break.
  4. It Starts with Food: This was in preparation of doing a Whole30.  Currently on Day 2 and going strong.  I don’t know if I would have picked it up if I wasn’t going to be doing the eating plan, but it was a good read.  There is a lot of science to back up the point they’re making and it is simplified to make sense to anyone who wants to listen.  I really believe that food is a deeply personal choice and only you know what your body needs, but I could tell mine needed a reset so I am giving this a try.
  5. The Road Back to You: An Enneagram Journey to Self-Discovery: I did not fully complete this book (yet) but have read a good chunk of it.  My sister recently introduced me to the enneagram and I have been fascinated by it ever since.  While the Meyers-Brigg is insightful, I find the enneagram to describe so much more about me.  It reveals my weaknesses and strengths in a profound way, gives me language to understand the way I am made, and has provided peace about how I am as well as how other people around me are.  I highly recommend this book to anyone who appreciates gaining insight into themselves.

These books were all winners and really inspired my 2017 reading goal.  I kept saying at least 27 books because I wasn’t sure if I could make 28 but what the heck I am going for 28 because I truly think I can.  I also decided I am not going to grab random books from the library without at least looking them up online.  So yes, I am judging a book by its cover, but I also want to only read things I know I will enjoy.

Leave a Reply

