confused

This year, one of the biggest changes in  my life was my interest in politics.  It was probably the combination of being able to vote for the first time, the interesting election, and how I have learned about social justice.  And I have dug in, I voted, I look into issues, I bill track.  But I am confused.  I don’t get it.  How we are this divided as a nation?  What is true? Who do I believe?  Should I keep reading the news?  What is right and what is wrong?

Fear is widespread and contagious.  And that is what I see and resist.  Even in my confusion, I refuse to give fear a foothold because were fear takes root, love will never come in.  And God is love.  How can I love my neighbors well?  The ones who live not even a mile away from me, yet lack so many of the things I take for granted.  How can I love my God with all my heart, soul, and mind?  By seeing the world a little more like he does every day.  By allowing my eyes to opened and my heart to be rocked by the truth that I am called to give, to serve, to love.  To be okay with less so that humanity can better flourish.

I don’t know what this looks like.  And I want to better know the answer.  But I started today by showing up.  I went and gathered, I had discussions with friends, I am reading things that older and wiser people wrote.

I am confused and I see there is hurt and I will respond.

Leave a Reply

